Chapelle Notre Dame des Gardettes is a picturesque medieval chapel dating back to the 15th century. The first mention of it dates back to 1476, when it was still called Nostra Dona di Gardita.
The present chapel was founded between 1580 and 1593. It was the chapel of the de Villeneuve-Thorenc family, whose chateau was located above, in Passe-Prest. In 1616, Françoise de Villeneuve, Madame de la Berlière and founder of the chapel, bequeathed to the chapel a portrait of the Virgin Mary and the Stations of the Cross.
The Chapelle Notre Dame des Gardettes is decorated with 17th-century stucco. The 18th century high altar has been preserved and is still in place. A cross was placed in front of the chapel in 1702.
Between 1925 and 1930, two local artists, Marthe Larcher and Germaine Laporte, painted a series of murals depicting the life of Christ and the Virgin Mary in the landscape of Saint-Paul.
The chapel has been registered as a historical monument since 1993 and on 1 March 2001 it received the designation “Heritage of the 20th Century”.
To reach this beautiful chapel, walk the ancient path through the local countryside.