from €0,00
Check Availability

Villa Santo Sospir

Not Rated
Duration

Cancellation

No Cancellation

Group Size

Unlimited

Languages

___

Overview

La Villa Santo Sospir est un musée tout à fait unique où, au lieu de peintures classiques, vous trouverez des “murs tatoués”.

Cette œuvre entière est un chef-d’œuvre du poète Jean Cocteau, qui a rencontré Francine Weisweiller (propriétaire de la villa) en 1949 pendant le tournage des Enfants Terribles.

L’année suivante, Francine invite Jean pour une semaine de vacances dans sa maison, que Francine avait achetée en 1946 et qui servait de résidence secondaire à Saint Jean Cap Ferrat. Jean Cocteau voit le potentiel des murs blancs et décide de les améliorer un peu. Il demande à Francine s’il peut dessiner la tête d’Apollon au fusain au-dessus de la cheminée du salon. Mais il ne s’arrête pas là et tatoue progressivement des fresques sur tous les murs de la maison.

Jean Cocteau lui-même a écrit : “Il ne fallait pas habiller les murs, il fallait dessiner sur leur peau, j’ai donc travaillé les fresques de façon linéaire avec quelques couleurs pour faire ressortir les tatouages. Santo Sospir est une villa tatouée”.

La plupart des fresques sont inspirées de la mythologie grecque, mais aussi d’allusions à la Côte d’Azur : les pêcheurs de Villefranche et leurs filets, l’oursin, la fougasse.

Deux ans après l’achèvement des murs de la villa, Jean Cocteau commence les plafonds. Les trouvant trop blancs, il les peint avec des couleurs pastel dans des tons très doux. Il réalise ensuite deux mosaïques dans la cour d’entrée : deux visages et un serpent sur le seuil, et la tête d’Orphée sur le mur de gauche. Enfin, trois ans plus tard, Jean Cocteau offre à Francine une tapisserie représentant Judith et Holopherne pour le mur de la salle à manger.

Fresques, mosaïques et tapisseries ornent aujourd’hui encore le Santo Sospir, plus vivantes que jamais. Elles reflètent non seulement l’architecture de la maison, mais aussi l’humeur de ses habitants. Même le mobilier est resté le même, de sorte que les visiteurs d’aujourd’hui sont immergés dans l’intemporalité du poète. La Villa Santo Sospir est classée monument historique depuis le 5 mai 1995.

Activity Types

Family
Sightseeing Tours

Activity's Location

Reviews

0/5
Not Rated
Based on 0 review
Excellent
0
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Showing 1 - 0 of 0 in total

Write a review

from €0,00

Organized by

Visit The French Riviera

Member Since 2021

1115 Reviews

You might also like

from €0,00
Check Availability

Villa Santo Sospir

14 Avenue Jean Cocteau, 06230 Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Not Rated

Duration

Cancellation

No Cancellation

Group Size

Unlimited

Languages

___

Overview

Villa Santo Sospir is a completely unique museum where instead of classic paintings you will find “tattooed walls”.

This entire work is a masterpiece of the poet Jean Cocteau, who met Francine Weisweiller (owner of the villa) in 1949 during the filming of Les Enfants Terribles.

The following year, Francine invited Jean for a week’s holiday in her house, which Francine had bought in 1946 and which served as a holiday home in Saint Jean Cap Ferrat. Jean Cocteau saw the potential in the white walls and decided to improve them a little. He asked Francine if he could draw the head of Apollo in charcoal above the fireplace in the living room. But he did not stop there and gradually tattooed frescoes on all the walls of the house.

Jean Cocteau himself wrote: “It was not necessary to dress the walls, it was necessary to draw on their skin, so I worked the frescoes linearly with a few colours to highlight the tattoos. Santo Sospir is a tattooed villa”.

Most of the frescoes are inspired by Greek mythology, but also by allusions to the Côte d’Azur: the fishermen of Villefranche and their nets, the sea urchin, la fougasse.

Two years after the completion of the walls of the villa, Jean Cocteau started on the ceilings. When he found them too white, he painted them with pastel colours in very soft tones. He then created two mosaics in the entrance courtyard: two faces and a snake on the threshold, and the head of Orpheus on the left wall. Finally, three years later, Jean Cocteau offered Francine a tapestry of Judith and Holofernes for the dining room wall.

Frescoes, mosaics and tapestries still adorn the Santo Sospir today, more vivid than ever. They reflect not only the architecture of the house, but also the moods of its inhabitants. Even the furniture has remained the same, so today’s visitors are immersed in the poet’s timelessness. Villa Santo Sospir has been listed as a historic monument since 5 May 1995.

View More

Activity Types

Family
Sightseeing Tours

Activity's Location

14 Avenue Jean Cocteau, 06230 Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France

Reviews

0/5
Not Rated
Based on 0 review
Excellent
0
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Showing 1 - 0 of 0 in total

Write a review

from €0,00

Organized by

Lukas

Member Since 2021

100 Reviews

You might also like